A million minutes

I work outside of the home, which means I arrive home around 5:30 with a hungry, tired, sometimes grouchy, screamy, combative) toddler in tow. I usually have no clue what we’re having for supper. I try to cook, tidy up, prepare for the next day, and cram in a little quality time with the kiddo.

There is never enough time to get everything done. I know that I’m not the only one who feels this way. I think that about 75% of the time, being an adult is a total bum deal. Of course, I didn’t appreciate the awesomeness of being a child until I was an adult, which is the cruelest cut of all.

Working full-time and having a very young child means sometimes I feel like I have been spread so thin I can barely see myself, and yet my to-do list never diminishes. Last night, as I parked myself on the sofa for a few minutes of peace before going to bed, I started day dreaming about all of the things I would get done if I had a million extra minutes. (Lest you think that is a ridiculous amount of time, it is just a little under seventeen hours.)

On my list were things like…

– give myself a proper manicure where I push my cuticles with an orange stick wrapped in cotton. (I’ve read that you’re supposed to do that in Glamour. Does anyone actually do that?)

– finish watching Mad Men because I am sooooooooo behind. I was starting Season Four when I got horrible gastro and I never finished it and now I am so many seasons behind I might just wait until the series ends and watch the whole thing. (Unless I found a million minutes just lying around somewhere.)

– take a long nap with no alarm.

– take a long bath, with the door locked, and  a book, and someone watching my kiddo so that I wouldn’t have to listen to constant knocking on the door and pleading to come in.

– learn how to use my damn sewing machine. I would read the manual, and then take some lessons. I told Nina that I would make little pyjamas for her Waldorf doll, and I have a whole list of projects I want to try if I can just find the time to sit down and learn how to use the machine.

– organize the pictures on my laptop and make one of those online baby books for Nina. (God knows I sucked at making a real one for her.)

– see a movie alone in an almost-empty theatre, where I can put my feet up on the seat in front of me and I don’t have to share my popcorn.

– spend some quality time with my kid. Nothing involving cooking or cleaning, just something fun like going to the park or the pool or reading or colouring. Time where I don’t have to say “just a moment” or “as soon as I finish this.”

How about everyone else? What would YOU do with a million minutes?

Leave a Reply

